top of page

The Big Chill

Health & Wellness

THE LATEST TECHNIQUE TO PRODUCE WELL-BEING? DROP IT LIKE IT’S ICE COLD.

Staffer Lizzie Wilcox gives the “thumbs up” to the deep freeze.

Staffer Lizzie Wilcox gives the “thumbs up” to the deep freeze.

Stepping into sub-zero temperatures is not my usual idea of fun, but when my pal Gail recommended Whole Body Cryotherapy as a wonderful pick-me-up, I figured I’d give it a try. After all, each session lasts only about three minutes, a short enough time to shiver for an energy boost that was supposed to last hours.

We tried out the cold therapy used by Lebron James and other athletes at Cryo Xtreme, one of several locales in Coral Gables that offer the service. The manager there, Maru Molero, explained that we’d enter a shower-like cylinder open at the top and would keep our heads out. Good to know, since the chamber is chilled to 169 degrees below Fahrenheit with liquid nitrogen. The idea is that the cold sends your blood toward your core, helping reduce inflammation much like ice packs do. Athletes and weekend warriors like it to soothe sore muscles. Many folks burn an extra 500 to 800 calories in the 24-hours after a session, because the wintry burst also speeds metabolism, Maru told us.

Raised in the Caribbean, I prefer heat to cold. So, I took a friend from Germany for his opinion, too. Molero first made sure we had no medical conditions that might rule out the treatment – like a recent heart attack or hypertension. Cleared to go, we each stripped to our underwear and put on a robe, warm mittens, knee-high socks and sturdy slippers provided – all very clean. My friend went first. Molero suggested he keep moving inside the chamber, walking in circles. “It’s like being in Germany in the winter,” he said, happy to have his head out, his ears and nose still at Florida room temperature. During the second minute, his legs felt tingly, so he jogged in place. Soon, the 2:40-minute session was done. “I was a little tired when I went in, and now, I feel awake,” he beamed.

I stepped into the cylinder and took off my robe, as Molero elevated the floor to raise my head out. Vapors like dry-ice rose from the chamber. The first minute flew by. Then, my legs and the skin by the mittens felt icy, so I kept jumping in circles. When I stepped out, my friend noticed my skin was reddish and glowing. “I feel like I want to take on the world,” I blurted out. “It’s like the high from a good workout, but without the sweat.”

Prices vary at different centers, but Cryo Xtreme in Coral Gables typically charges $40 for an initial session and $65 for each session thereafter, with packages available. My friend said the session seemed to awaken his appetite hours later and helped him sleep better that night. The three minutes of cold seemed to sharpen my mind for hours. He’s looking forward to another round, and I’d go again too.

Cryo Xtreme in Coral Gables typically charges $40 for an initial session and $65 for each session thereafter, with packages available.

 

Cyro Xtreme

1430 S. Dixie Hwy #103

786.725.9000

firstunitedmethodist.jpg
Features
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
The Latest
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page