top of page

Maritza Fernandez

DESIGNER & OWNER, FILOMENA FERNANDEZ

"I believe the type of things I do… belong to the Gables"

Maritza Fernandez

Maritza Fernandez graduated from fashion school in Caracas, Venezuela at the age of 21, and then moved to Japan, where she started working for a high-end brand as fashion design assistant. Four years later she brought that brand – Kyoko Higa – to the U.S., where she spent the next 20 years promoting it. Six years ago, she founded her own shop and line in Coral Gables, named for her grandmother Filomena.

 

LATEST ACHIEVEMENT

Launched her Spring/Summer line in April, based on Moroccan colors and themes, with a runway show at her Gables boutique.

 

WHAT SHE SAYS

“I have lived in Coral Gables for 26 years, and I love it, so when I thought to open a shop I thought only Coral Gables. Mine is more of a classic type of look than the beach, so I didn’t see myself in South Beach. I believe the type of things I do and the price points belong to the Gables. Even though we do get a lot of tourists here, we cater to the people who live here,” she says. “My lines are very simple and clean. I believe in clean cuts, but with clean cuts if you don’t do something feminine, then it’s too structured, which is why I use colors and prints and lace. It gives femininity to it.”

firstunitedmethodist.jpg
Features
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
The Latest
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page